More Than Just Love Lessons from the movie ‘Twilight’

So I fall into the category of people who got dragged by a friend to watch the movie Twilight.  Personally, I didn’t even want to watch it, but it was Thanksgiving break @ school so mostly everyone was gone that weekend.

Now before all the die-hard Twilight fans get defensive…I want to say that I DO like the movie.  I’m a total sap for romantic movies & Twilight is definitely up there when it comes to romance.

There is one part that I could never get over though.  It’s the part where Bella & Edward are in the woods, and Edward is explaining to Bella why he can’t go into the sunlight.  He claims that he turns into this monster, so I was excited when Bella insisted that Edward show her what he looked like in the sunlight.

Now, I’m excited because when someone says “I turn into a monster”, I’m thinking Edward turns green, grows horns, loses teeth…stuff life that.  Therefore, imagine my disappointment when Edward steps into the sunlight, turns to Bella, and the only thing that changes is the sparkles in his skin.

“WTF!” is the first that comes to my mind.  Edward Cullen doesn’t look like a monster!  He looks like someone pushed him into a bin of diamond dust!  I couldn’t let that go for a loong time.

In fact, I brought it up to my sister the other day.  I explained to her what I just explained to you, and instead of laughing and reacting the way I did, she made a simple statement.  She said, “I wonder if that makes a statement about the issue of self-image and society’s view of beauty.”  Dang my sister is smart!

This got me thinking.  Often times, pop culture dictates the standards one needs to achieve in order to be deemed beautiful.  Print & broadcast media surround us with men and women that are “beautiful” and tell us that this is how we need to dress and act to be accepted and considered attractive.  A lot of money, tears, and stress is put into trying to work toward almost impossible goals.  The source of the most harsh criticism, however, comes from within a person.  Often times, you can read the news or talk to people and be completely in shock as to the self-esteem issues people deal with on a day to day basis.  It reminds me of a piece of wisdom I’ve heard my whole life:  It doesn’t matter what people think of you, it only matter that you think highly about yourself.

Going back to the Twilight example, this is what Edward Cullen went through.  His non vampire world put this immense pressure on him to look a certain way.  Yes, diamond skin is not the norm, but definitely not a stock picture of a ‘monster’.  It didn’t matter though.  Edward’s own interpretation of his self-image was far worse than any…..  I believe that it was his failure to meet his own standards of beauty, not the world’s, that kept him obsessed with staying out of the sun.

The moral of the story…be your own biggest fan!  Know that you are beautiful, no matter what people may say!

“Always keep a smile on your face, because you never know who may be falling in love with it.”

0 Responses to “More Than Just Love Lessons from the movie ‘Twilight’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome…

...to Matter of (my) Opinion! I hope you enjoy your stay & get in touch. Here, there's nothing that is off limits. I try to talk about anything and everything...as long as it's of interest to you, and I know something about it, I'll write about it.


Add to Technorati Favorites
I <3 SEOmoz

MOMO Categories


